Prathidhwani

I don’t know why, but there is always this sense of losing my roots. Maybe its because I don’t do much in any of my native languages except probably communicate with friends and relatives. Even with a rich script and a rich heritage I write in a language that is alien to my culture, to my lineage and claim proficiency in it.

I don’t know why, but writing gives me pleasure. Maybe its the way distant words come together and magically weave different meanings and communicate my thoughts to others and for myself to see and read and analyze. Maybe its time I saw how I can project my thoughts in a different language. I am starting something new. Am starting a blog in a language that is alien to my lineage but is part of my life, my growing up, my education and as much part of me as my city of Bangalore.

If you happen to be reading this post, please extend your patronage to this new effort of mine. I don’t claim to be an expert, and I know as well as anyone, it is not going to be easy, which is a big shame. There will be mistakes, but it will be a journey backwards in time, to days spent writing compositions, essays and understanding the nuances and subtleties of Kannada.

My first post was difficult. I used orkut’s scrapbook to craft the ಕನ್ನಡ script from English. The words were hard to come by. There was no word for destination that was suitable I could think of. Things I would have managed with ease during school days were difficult. There is so much that I have unlearned. This is a mild attempt at remedying those. Lets hope am successful on this.

Here’s the link, am not embedding it or using hyperlinks: http://prathidhwani.livejournal.com
Have added some regular readers from livejournal as friends already. Your comments and feedback would be much appreciated.

And well, its not like am gonna stop this one. Will keep posting here. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Prathidhwani

  1. as far as I can remember ‘uvacha’ means spoke. And I think it is used with the third person. I maybe wrong.
    -raaghu

    1. You are right…and perfectly so…
      ‘Vak’ is the root here and vacha means said…it is third person…
      but well sounded good as a name for the journal…so kept it 😀

  2. Good, hope to see more ಕನ್ನಡ posts from you!
    Even with a rich script and a rich heritage I write in a language that is alien to my culture, to my lineage and claim proficiency in it.
    In my case, I’ve always written more in English than in Kannada. Speaking was more in mother tongue though. IAC I’m not proud of the former fact. I wish to read/write more in Kannada. Especially now that I’m exposed to people of other Asian cultures and I see how proud they are of their heritage.
    I used orkut’s scrapbook to craft the ಕನ್ನಡ script from English.
    You’re kidding me right? Just use BarahaIME and type Kannada words in their English sounding letters into any Unicode-supported application! I just type directly into webpages (like this comment box now), email composition windows or into Notepad and copy the contents over. ತುಂಬ easy ಕಣೋ!
    There was no word for destination that was suitable I could think of.
    Yes, I can’t find the right words either sometimes. You need a good English-Kannada dictionary. I use the Prism online dict:
    http://www.baraha.com/kannada/index.php

    1. Thanks a lot for the links and pointers…
      People from other countries, even non-Asian are proud of their heritage and treat english as just a foreign language…
      I have seen Europeans in my company who speak English as fluently as us, but with an accent I find interesting, they use “tha” instead of “ta” when pronouncing words with “t”s. And they read books and literature in their language, as well as in English…I guess we are missing out on lots of good literature and art with our English fixation…the fact that we struggle to come up with words in our native languages for most things itself is a shame…

Leave a Reply

