Run, Run, Run!!!

It was a heavy dinner. Drumstick sambhar with pappadam, followed by curd rice and pickles. Was left licking my fingers after that. The ordeal was to begin right after – Cleaning the vessels. I do have a dishwasher installed in my apartment, but am never the one to use it. Cleaning used to be a stress-relieving experience. The instant results of my actions, positive results that is, of the stains being washed away as I gently scrubbed them got me hooked and slowly I fell, nope not in love with washing vessels, but into addiction to washing vessels. Soon it became an ordeal, but something I didn’t want to avoid, I don’t know why, maybe its just me. The thought of waking up to a sink full of vessels, unwashed, sends shivers down my spine. So I wash, and the number of vessels used is not so high as to warrant the dishwasher and I despise the amount of noise it makes.

Coming back, I washed the vessels, completed the movie I was watching and went to bed soon after. And then it started…

I was washing vessels, all white plates…it started joyously, so many vessels to wash. And then it became painful, so many bloody vessels to wash!! I was washing, and washing and washing, and they never seemed to cease, the amount of plates on my left was constant and the washed vessels never seemed to be increasing either. And then I realized I must run. But, then I felt I might be unfair to all those vessels remaining unwashed. What if I wake up to them?!

But then, I knew I had to break away from the madness, there was something sinister at work here which prevented all the plates from getting washed. And then, realization struck! I had only 3 plates at home, where did the remaining come from?! I decided it was time to run! I ran, I ran and I kept running.

Suddenly there was a voice. Oddly, it was my manager! “Vaidy, are you done cleaning the plates? Can you give me a status of the percentage of plates cleaned? Also update Product Studio with the number of hours you have spent cleaning plates, and if possible give me an ETA of when you’ll finish cleaning all the plates. Management is interested in knowing when all the plates will be cleaned and this data is very important for us.”
Oh God, I am losing it and I ran faster!

Suddenly, there were dogs, not pedigree labradors or retrievers, but the good old street dogs of Bengaluru, and even more strangely I was now in front of the Raghavendra Math of Kalidasa Layout, Srinagar, Bangalore. And why where the dogs all of the same color? And the same pattern?! Surely I could dream up dogs of different colours, even though am slightly color blind and some friends take a lot of pleasure making fun of that. Well, the dogs were some way ahead. It was late in the night and there was no one on the street. One of the dogs turned and looked at me. I knew the look. It meant just one thing – “Attack!!” and the barking, growling and snarling started as they ran up to me with this dog leading at front. Soon it was up by my side and slowly I had an epiphany as if I was some 20 feet in front watching me run up to me with the dog on my right. The dog leapt up to reach and bite my wrist. Suddenly the epiphany ended and I was me. I wanted a stone, a good hard stone more than anything else at the moment, and one materialized in my left hand. At the precise moment the dog was to bite into my wrist, I somehow managed to replace my wrist with the stone.

The result of teeth crushing stone and getting crushed back oddly did not belong to the dog’s mouth. It was more magnified, something like a camera zoomed in to the mouth of the dog and projected on a big movie screen. The noise was crackling, but I could never get to see that. Maybe dreams only show what we have seen and cannot manufacture stuff on their own.

And then I was back, running again! This time, my manager was shouting away “Did you break all the dogs’ teeth? Can you give me a status of the percentage of dogs whose teeth were broken? Also update Product Studio with the number of hours you have spent for that, and if possible give me an ETA of when you’ll finish breaking the teeth of all the dogs you saw. Management is interested in knowing when all the dogs will have their teeth broken and this data is very important for future planning.”

What Rot!! I knew I was losing it!

And then there was music. I knew this one, it was familiar, way too familiar, I listen to it everyday! And then my eyes opened to the alarm ringing and I was back to the normal world, and there began another day in my life…

5 thoughts on “Run, Run, Run!!!

  1. You know what?!! Drumsticks are supposed to be some sort of an aphrodisiac…If after eating this u get this dream, I dont even want to go into the analysis of what could that mean πŸ˜€

  2. Hey, this is your manager commenting … “Did you fix all the bugs? Can you give me a status of the percentage of bugs fixed? Also update Product Studio with the number of hours you have spent for that, and if possible give me an ETA of when you’ll finish all the bugs assigned to you. Management is interested in knowing when all the bugs will be fixed and this data is very important for future planning.”

Leave a Reply

