Lost in thought…

A strange day it was. Walking along the road, I had a sense of foreboding; something was in the air, or was it just my mind playing games, as always. And then there was this strange and sudden urge to close my eyes and walk along the same path without any visual aid. It was frightening. The road was empty and there was nothing along it or on my immediate path to harm me. Still I found fear gripping me and strangely, the urge only deepened in the face of it.

I closed my eyes, but not before committing to memory every tiny detail of the path. I took a few steps, before my eyes revolted, wanting to get back in action, to control me, no trust in any of my other senses. I resisted. A few more steps. Now my mind started playing tricks. What if there was a wall in front of me? Or if I was close to the storm water drain? Or if there was a massive nail sticking out from the ground? No. I surged ahead, but I felt my eyes gaining a slight upper hand here.

With a firmer resolve I moved ahead, making sure I was tracing a straight line from my original direction so as not to move closer to the sides. I resisted waving my hands about, although that seemed to be the most logical thing to do, to feel my surroundings. I still trusted my memory, although I’ve had sneaking suspicions that its been playing tricks with me lately.

A few more steps I promised my eyes, and you’ll be in control. A few more steps I took and then I stopped. No idea why, but I stopped. I stood there, breathing in deeply. Memories flew by – A house in the shade of a big tree, where dwelt squirrels, sparrows and crows. Three kids playing cricket under its shade, quarreling, patching up and quarreling again, but the game went on as it always did.

Fast forward to a house in the first floor, less space to play, increasing traffic on the road, an adolescent son at loggerheads with his parents. The Son growing up, desperate to run away from it all, to a distant land. Soon, a house far away from the city where the parents age, while the son sits in a far off land praying they stay well until he hastens back for good after eventually having enough. A city with pangs of its own as it tries to reinvent itself to meet the needs of sudden discoverers and travelers who want to call it their home.

“Are you okay?” Someone asked as I opened my eyes, as if from sleep, to realize that I was standing in the middle of a road. “Yes, I guess I just got lost in some thought” I said and hastened to ask “Why?” noticing that the man who was in front of me was very shaken.

“Sir, there was a cobra a few feet from where you were standing ‘lost in thought’ ready to strike. It moved off after noticing no movement from you.”

6 thoughts on “Lost in thought…

  1. ‘olu’ is right. 😀
    But managed to hold me for few moments though.
    >>”A city with pangs of its own as it tries to reinvent itself to meet the needs of sudden discoverers and travelers who want to call it their home.”
    Not sure how many more would want to make this city their home.

    1. Good thing the tag comes after the post 😀
      “Not sure how many more would want to make this city their home.”
      Yes, I guess its not going to come down in the near future…

  2. well the cobra undid the denouement, till then the tale was quite engrossing and visual. i imagined you were describing a road in an american city( the present) until the very tropical cobra decided to check you out in america! liked it.

  3. well the cobra undid the denouement, till then the tale was quite engrossing and visual. i imagined you were describing a road in an american city( the present) until the very tropical cobra decided to check you out in america! liked it. Indhu

    1. hehe..I guess it did undo it a lot…
      Wasn’t too convinced myself… Couldn’t think of anything better at that time though…
      And I imagined a road in Bangalore, wherein comes the tropical cobra :D…

Leave a Reply

