LJ sucks and RKH memories

It took me a good few minutes to open LJ and log into it. I thought it was just firefox acting up, but turned out it was slow in IE as well and all other sites were functioning properly. Made me wonder why am still sticking to this. Am I insecure about my blogging/writing capabilities and about my handful of readers following me to another place like WP? Wonder how many actually subscribe using FriendFeed or Google reader to other blogs and how many just see their Friends page on LJ?

Michael Jackson passed away today. Reminds me of the day when Ramakrishna Hegde passed away one fine day when I was sitting and kutting away in Huawei and this overheard conversation from the next set of cubicles.

One: “ರಾಮಕೃಷ್ಣ ಹೆಗಡೆ ತೀರೋದ್ರನ್ಥೆ?” (RKH passed away!)
Two: “ಸಾಯಲಿ ಬಿಡಿ! ಕಳ್ಳ ನನ್ ಮಗ!” (Good for him! He was such a looter!)
One: “ರೀ! ಸತ್ಹೋದವ್ರ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ಹಂಗೆ ಬೈಬಾರ್ದು!” (You know, you are not supposed to disrespect the dead)
Two: “ವೀರಪ್ಪನ್ ಸತ್ತಾಗ ಹಿಂಗೆ ಹೇಳ್ತೀರ?” (Will you say the same thing when Veerappan dies?)
All One could say was: “ಯಾವೂರ್ರೀ ನಿಮ್ಮದು!” (Wherever are you from!)

I was just ROTFL like everyone else within earshot of the conversation.

P.S: Added translation for those who can’t read Kannada and asked me. Made me realize how tough and painful translation can be. The second line, I just couldn’t come up with something meaningful enough to match the actual Kannada. “Thief my son”, just doesn’t make sense!

One thought on “LJ sucks and RKH memories

Leave a Reply

