Bees on Pongamia – 2016

Well, I had to add the year as I already did one last year. This year, again I shot some of them. I did one run last week, but that was a total dud. There were 85 shots taken, barely half a dozen were decent. The camera aperture number was higher which meant I lost a lot to focusing. Today, there were a lot more flowers, and the lighting was good as I tried before 9 AM. And the aperture was at the lowest possible on the lens, at 5.6. I used macro on the lens which helped get focus this close. I shot 15-20, almost all of them were good.

I also shot 2 videos on the phone. They were that close.

The photos:
On this the bee leans on a leaf as it injects its syringe-like proboscis into the stem of the flower.

IMG_0771

This is the whole bee as it balances on the flower while sucking from it.
IMG_0778

And the top view. This was a Hail Mary shot, turned out just fine.
IMG_0785

Another one from the back just as it is about to fly away. You can see the wings fluttering now.
IMG_0789
And the last, as it is busy sucking away from the stem. Note the fine hair on its legs.
IMG_0792

The videos:
Both are slo-mos shot with the iPhone 6 camera. Please to watch them on HD as otherwise it would be pretty grainy.

And this one is the most recent:

Leave a Reply

